Treaties Recognition Week is November 6 to 12

The seven Williams Treaties First Nations are Alderville First Nation, Chippewas of Beausoleil First Nation, Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nation, Chippewas of Rama First Nation, Curve Lake First Nation, Hiawatha First Nation and Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

The College is situated on the traditional territories of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation, and the Williams Treaties was signed in November 1923 by the Government of Canada, the Government of Ontario, and Seven First Nations. 

This means we are all treaty people.

Many treaties were signed in Ontario, including three numbered treaties, two Robinson Treaties,  two Williams Treaties, and 30 Upper Canada Treaties.

Learn more about these legally binding agreements, between Indigenous peoples and the Crown and what they mean for settler-Indigenous relationships and reconciliation. Also, be sure to take a look at the resources by the First Peoples Indigenous Centre.