Durham College awards seventh honorary credential to Kent Farndale

Durham College (DC) is pleased to share it awarded its seventh honorary credential to Kent Farndale during the Spring Convocation 2018 ceremony on Monday, June 11, at Oshawa’s Tribute Communities Centre.

Given in recognition of individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the college, Durham Region and beyond, in the areas of leadership, innovation and partnerships, Kent received a diploma in Community Development.

Guided by a passion for volunteerism and civic advancement, Kent has been a driving force behind many developments and initiatives in Durham Region.

“We could not think of a more deserving person to receive this award,” said Don Lovisa, president, Durham College. “Kent’s contributions to both the college and broader community are substantial and have helped organizations across the region grow and thrive, which makes her diploma in community development very fitting.”

Her history of civic involvement began when she successfully campaigned to retain and restore Port Perry Town Hall. Extensive philanthropic endeavours have followed, that have seen her foster partnerships between countless organizations that contribute to the education, health and culture of the region.

These include a fundraising campaign to build the R.S McLaughlin Durham Regional Cancer Centre at Lakeridge Health Oshawa, as well as the My Health, My Hospital campaign and championing the expansion of the Community Memorial Hospital in Port Perry.

Kent also chairs the Lakeridge Health North Durham Community Council, serves on the Scugog Council for the Arts Board of Directors and has had the Scugog Memorial Public Library’s art gallery named after her.

A keen supporter of Durham College, Kent, along with her now late husband, established the Douglas and Kent Farndale Culinary Award in 2012 and contributed to the capital campaign to build the W. Galen Weston Centre for Food.

Her awards and recognitions are numerous and include the Durham Region Art of Transition Lifetime Achievement Award, the Province of Ontario’s 10-Year Service Award and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ontario Trust. Nationally, she is the sole recipient of the Lescarbot award from the Government of Canada and has been awarded the Canada 125 Commemorative Medal, the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal and the Canada 150 Medal.