DC to host Global Cyberlympics Finals in October

Durham College (DC) in partnership with The Regional Municipality of Durham announced earlier this morning at an official media launch that they will be co-hosting the Global Cyberlympics Finals on Saturday, October 26 at the Oshawa campus. Organized by EC-Council and SiberX, this will be the first time that the highly-competitive event will be held in Canada.

The Global Cyberlympics is an ethical hacking and cyber security competition that pits teams from all over the world against each other to compete in a series of challenges in areas such as digital forensics, malware analysis and cryptography. Following the 12-hour online elimination round on Saturday, September 7, finalists will compete for the winning title during the in-person Finals competition at DC. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony, to be held in Ajax, after the competition.

“We are so excited and proud to be hosting this unique competition at Durham College and seeing the very best talent in cyber security and artificial intelligence descend on the Durham Region for one of the most advanced competitions worldwide,” said Dr. Elaine Popp, vice president, Academic at DC. “As we continue to encourage advancement in the field of cyber security, I am confident this event will encourage interest and present new opportunities to address the talent gap that exists in this sector.”

“Durham Region is a hotbed of innovative thinking; a place where a diverse and inclusive workforce drives innovation and creativity,” said John Henry, Regional Chair and Chief Executive Officer for Durham Region. “Durham College plays a strong role within this innovative ecosystem—offering collaborative research, leading-edge innovation, and market-driven academic programming that is transforming our communities. We look forward to an engaging series of events, coming to Durham Region this fall.”

Since its inception in 2012, the Cyberlympics have seen more than 2,100 participants from 500 teams and 75 countries compete. Last year’s event included finalists from locations such as Brazil, Netherlands, India, Nigeria and Australia.