2006 Alumni of Distinction


Ian Ball Business Administration – Marketing, 2002     Ian Ball’s career successes include his position as head of Investor Relations at Goldcorp Inc. in Vancouver, British Columbia, playing a critical role in the creation of McEwan Capital, based in Toronto, Ontario and successfully completing a number of corporate mergers and acquisitions. By the age of 23, Ball was one of the youngest vice-presidents of a publicly traded company in Canada. Ball obtained his Bachelor of Commerce degree from Ryerson University. He annually supports Durham College through the scholarship and bursary program.

Jeffrey S. Boyce General Business  — Marketing, 1980     Jeffrey S. Boyce has achieved great success in numerous professional fields. He is president and chief executive officer of Sure Energy Inc., a Calgary-based multimillion-dollar publicly traded corporation in the oil and gas sector. Boyce is also the former president and CEO of Vermilion Resources, a $1-billion oil and gas exploration and production company that he co-founded. Recognizing the importance of community participation, he is an active volunteer with the United Way as well as various community associations and minor league sports organizations. In 2004, he was recognized by Ernst and Young as the Entrepreneur of the Year and in 2006 received the prestigious Premier’s Award.

Sheila Corriveau Public Relations, 1988     Sheila Corriveau has held a number of senior positions in the public relations sector, including partner, president and chief executive officer of Porter Novelli Canada. She was also appointed to a global leadership position with Porter Novelli as partner and global network director. Corriveau also maintains a commitment to the public relations sector and Durham College by consistently working to support students and recent graduates as they find their niche in the communications world. She has been recognized for her achievements by her peers receiving the Public Relations Professional of the Year at the 2005 Ace (Achieving Communications Excellence) Awards.